Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Martial Arts The Art of War

#1   Mars Djinni 

• Master Adept
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
    • Group: Members
    • Interests:Martial Arts:<br />- Weapons (Bo staff :D)<br />- Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Filipino styles<br /><br />Video Games: <br />Fire Emblem, Zelda, Megaman, Super Smash Bros., Age of Empires/Mythology, Final Fantasy, etc.<br /><br />Movies, Web Design, Foruming-ing-ing, Sprites and Digital Art, Drawing, Writing, Anime, etc.

Posted 26 August 2006 - 02:44 PM

Probably one of the world's most diverse and vertasile "sports". One of the most fun, in my opinion <_<. What is a Martial Art? Stupid question, I know. In short, it's a traditional way to kick butt (literally). Basically, it's any kind of training that involves combat of any sort.

I'm an Assistant Instructor in TaeKwonDo. My belt rank is black-stripe, which is a red belt with a black line across; one rank below Black Belt. I should get my exam for 1st Dan Black Belt this October, which I have to do all 10 TaeGeuk Poomses (Choreographed Patterns) and break pine boards with 8 different techniques. To top it off, I have to spar with one of the present black belts, and I can't lose by more than 5 points. Good fun. :o

I also do a some Tricking, which is basically performing moves to entertain, much like the Brazilian "Capoeira". The 540-degree Roundhouse kick, Ladder 360 and Double-leg Slapkick are the moves I like to use most.

It's a pretty interesting thing to try. Anyone else participate?

#2   Nosferatu 

• Master Adept
      • Group: Veterans
      • Interests:Stuff.

Posted 26 August 2006 - 02:53 PM

I used to do some Karate, techniclly the same I guess, for awhile, but I decided to break from it. Forget how high I got.

#3   Bexie 

• Gallant
      • PipPipPip
        • Interests:... Stuff?

Posted 26 August 2006 - 04:08 PM